Downtown candidates file for election

Share this:
July 26, 2004 // UPDATED 2:43 pm - April 25, 2007
By: Scott Russell
Scott Russell

The fall campaigns for the Minnesota House of Representatives' seats in the Downtown area firmed up as the July 20 filing deadline passed.

The 2004 elections include the president, U.S. Congress, the Minnesota House of Representatives, and state judicial candidates.

Three state House districts include all or parts of Downtown. All incumbents are DFL party members. All races are contested. They are:

House District 58B: Freshman incumbent Keith Ellison will be challenged in the Nov. 2 general election by Republican Dan Niesen. House District 58B covers Downtown north of 7th Street as well as north Minneapolis.

House District 59B: Longtime incumbent Phyllis Kahn will face three general-election challengers: Republican Amanda Hutchings, Independence Candidate Ron Lischeid, and Green Party member Becki Smith. House District 59B covers Nicollet Island and the East Bank area around Hennepin and Central avenues northeast.

House District 60A: Incumbent Margaret Anderson Kelliher will face challenges from Republican Tom Gromacki and Sigrid Hutcheson, an Independence member. House District 60A covers Downtown north of 7th Street, including all of Loring Park and Elliot Park.

U.S. Rep. Martin Sabo, D-Minn., has three challengers. Perennial candidate Dick Franson will run against Sabo for the Democratic Party endorsement. General election candidates include Republican Daniel Mathias and Green Party member Jay Pond.