Teacher of the Year candidates include three from Minneapolis

Share this:
January 30, 2012 // UPDATED 11:05 am - February 9, 2012
By: Dylan Thomas
Dylan Thomas
The list of 110 Teacher of the Year candidates released Wednesday by Education Minnesota includes three teachers from Minneapolis Public Schools, two of whom teach in Northeast.

Pillsbury Community School elementary teacher Maria Singh and Edison High School social studies teacher Erika Skiba are both in the running for 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. The third district teacher on the list was Sigrid Espe, a math teacher at Lucy Craft Laney.

Education Minnesota, the statewide educators union, plans to announce its 48th Teacher of the Year May 6. Between now and then a panel of 22 community leaders will whittle down the list of pre-K–12 public and private school teachers to a group of semifinalists and then finalists.

The last Minneapolis Public Schools teacher to win Teacher of the Year was Barton Open School English teacher Amber Damm in 2009.

Go to the Education Minnesota website to read the entire list of 2012 Teacher of the Year finalists.