Federal, state races

Share this:
October 25, 2010
By: Sarah McKenzie
Sarah McKenzie
Years ending in zero make for interesting elections in Minnesota.

All 201 Minnesota Senate and House seats will be on the ballot Election Day. Senators, usually elected to four-year terms, only get two in 2010.

That’s because the next governor and legislature will take on the once-in-a-decade task of redistricting that follows every U.S. Census. State legislative districts will be redrawn for the 2012 election based on new population estimates due out early next year, and the party in power gets to hold the pen.

In Downtown and Northeast, both DFL strongholds, many of the names on the ballot will be familiar from recent — and even not-so-recent — elections. But one well-known name is missing from this year’s ballot.

Speaker of the House Margaret Anderson Kelliher (DFL-60A), who failed to win her party’s primary in the race to replace Gov. Tim Pawlenty, is not seeking re-election. Marion Greene, Kelliher’s 2006 campaign manager, will attempt to retain that seat for
the DFL.

In the race for U.S. representative in District 5, incumbent Keith Ellison, a Democrat who made history in 2006 as the first Muslim elected to Congress, is running for a second term. His challenger in the left-leaning district is Republican-endorsed Joel Demos, a political newcomer who has garnered a fair amount of attention through his online campaign videos and television ads.

Here’s a snapshot of the legislative candidates on the ballot this year in the Journal’s coverage area.



U.S. Representative, 5th District
(The 5th District represents all of Minneapolis and the suburbs of Richfield, Fridley, Crystal and St. Louis Park.)

Keith Ellison (DFL), Inclumbent
keithellison.org
campaign@keithellison.org
612-522-4416

Joel Demos (Republican)
votedemos.com
joel@votedemos.com
612-269-5829



State Senate District 58
(Covers a section of Downtown west of the river including Downtown East, Downtown West and the North Loop)

Linda Higgins (DFL) Incumbent
senatorlinda.com
lhiggins@nmpls.com
522-2776

Troy Parker (DFL)
troyparkerforsenate.com
troyparkerforsenate58@gmail.com
242-0892

Kale Severson (DFL)

kaleseverson@gmail.com
522-0363

Hayley Astrup (Republican)
hmastrup@gmail.com
507-438-0946



State Senate District 59
(Covers St. Anthony West, St. Anthony East, Logan Park, Sheridan, Audubon Park, Holland, Bottineau, Windom Park, Northeast Park, Waite Park, Columbia Park and Marshall Terrace)

Lawrence J. Pogemiller (DFL) Incumbent
Pogemiller.com
larry@pogemiller.com
378-1006

Barry Hickethier (Republican)
barryforsenate.com
barry@barryforsenate.com
703-2632


Senate District 60
(Covers Bryn, Mawr, Lowry Hill, Lowry Hill East, East Isles, Kenwood, CIDNA, West Calhoun, ECCO, CARAG, East Harriet, Linden Hills, Tangletown, Fulton and parts of Lyndale, Kingfield, and Lynnhurst)

Scott Dibble (DFL), Incumbent
scottdibble.com
volunteersfordibble@gmail.com
612-293-7360

Scot Pekarek (Republican)
scotpekarekforsenate.com
scotpekarek@gmail.com
612-600-8888


House District 59A
(Covers St. Anthony West, St. Anthony East, Logan Park, Windom Park, Northeast Park, Sheridan, Bottineau, Holland, Audubon Park, Waite Park, Columbia Park and Marshall Terrace)

Diane Loeffler (DFL) Incumbent
dianeloeffler.com
diane@dianeloeffler.com
781-1307

Mark Lazarchic (Republican)
markforhouse.com
mark@renaissancefireworks.com
840-3240


House District 58B
(Covers Downtown East, Downtown West, the North Loop and part of North Minneapolis)

Bobby Joe Champion (DFL) Incumbent
champion4change.org
b-champion@msn.com
521-0237

Gary J. Mazzotta (Republican)
mazzotta4minnesota.com
gmazzotta28@rocketmail.com
339-1658



House District 60A
(Covers Loring Park and several Southwest neighborhoods)

Marion Greene (DFL)
mariongreene.org
marion@mariongreene.org
612-374-8728


Brian Gruber (Republican)
briangruber.org
brian@briangruber.org
612-281-3564