Frey, Hofstede announce endorsements for Third Ward seat

Share this:
January 30, 2013 // UPDATED 1:33 pm - February 6, 2013
By: Sarah McKenzie
Sarah McKenzie

Four City Council members have endorsed Jacob Frey for the Ward 3 council seat currently held by Diane Hofstede.

Councilmembers Lisa Goodman, Robert Lilligren, Gary Schiff and Elizabeth Glidden have endorsed Frey, a Minneapolis attorney and community activist, according to a news release sent out by his campaign.

“Jacob is exactly the kind of person needed to represent the new Third Ward," said Goodman (Ward 7) in the news release. "Intelligent, articulate, responsive and really hard working.  He has proven his abilities to work in partnership with others and has brought together a broad coalition to run his campaign.  He is the kind of new leader we need for this new ward."

Following Frey's announcement, Hofstede's campaign sent out a lengthy list of Hofstede's endorsements for a third term on the Council. They include City Council President Barb Johnson, Council Members Don Samuels and Meg Tuthill; State Reps. Diane Loeffler and Phyllis Kahn; Hennepin County Commissioner Linda Higgins; and Minneapolis Parks Commissioners Liz Wielinski and Anita Tabb. She has also received endorsements from several organized labor groups. 

The new Third Ward, post redistricting, includes neighborhoods in Northeast and portions of downtown, including the North Loop and Mill District.

According to campaign finance reports, Hofstede has raised $20,908 for her re-election campaign this year and Frey has raised $11,903.79.